Darryl blog thing!

by

Time for an update of stuff I have been doing which was not mentioned in detail on the blog, be warned, there might be some time travelling backwards a few months!

Most importantly, our local supermarket is selling another brand of English tea! I actually hated this brand while I lived on that stupid little island but I am very homesick these days, so any English foods and drinks are great for me ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_0015

Okay, onto real stuff. The electricians noticed that our kitchen worktop was too large and that it would stick out beyond the doorway! So I had to create a new wall inside the doorway to make the wall long enough to contain our kitchen ambitions, it was tricky, but I am getting quite confident at making walls now ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_0019

IMG_0021IMG_0030

I had to make some fancy wall section as the wall stuck out more before the doorway compared to after the doorway, turned out ok!

By the way: I did 2 more things that I did not take any pics of for some reason. 1 Was that I put wood planks on the ceiling at 40cm distances so we could put ceiling panels up there. 2 was that I then put insulation up there. AND 3 is that I dug up the floor in the kitchen AND removed all the wood-chip insulation to reveal the sewage pipes, then the plumbers did some shit, then I covered it all up again, IT WAS HARD AND TOOK AGES. Plumbers are lazy bastards and I will never forgive them. Yeah, I am salty as fuck about that. Plumbers have literally wasted weeks or months of this project, no other type of workmen has wasted so much of our time. I’ll take a lot of pleasure next time Mario gets eaten by a turtle next time I have a nostalgia session and play an old Mario game! Plumbers succkkkkkkkkkkkk.

Next thing to do was to make the arch between the green room and the kitchen. We noticed the walls I had made months ago were not the same width, so I made new wall sections to make it symetrical.

I think I had not made them symetrical for a reason at the time, but I don’t remember why!

IMG_0034

After some precision chopping, I made an archway! Not too bad for a first try.

IMG_0035

Here is the other side, with the wood exposed.

IMG_0036

Jesper did not help, but he was very tired anyway!

IMG_0039

He woke up though once we filled the food bucket! (This is just where we store food, he is not supposed to eat from here!)

IMG_0043

We also went to some hippy festival thing, it was pretty cool and there was an oldschool arcade in there! We learned that M is freaking badass at street fighter! …and most other fighting games we tried. OR maybe I am terrible at them, who knows!

IMG_0044

Then Summer suddenly happened! We have a nice yellow meadow garden, I should really cut it but I am too busy doing house stuff and our lawn mower is totally seriously crap ๐Ÿ˜€

IMG_0045

We discovered a stash of cocaine under the floor, M especialy enjoyed it:

IMG_0050

After a week or so of plastering between the plasterboards, (WHICH IS HARD AND STRESSFULL) it was time to start painting the undercoat (stupid white paint):

IMG_0053

IMG_0054

Eventually after 2 layers, it was done, at it looked pretty good! Most of my silly n00b plastering mistakes were covered up by the paint, phew!

IMG_0055

IMG_0056

Of course, the next step was to make everything green!

IMG_0058

After making it green, the next step was to put up the ceiling panels, some super strong tattoo’ed girl turned up to do the sawing!

IMG_0061

IMG_0063

It went pretty smoothly, we had an expert chopping the panels, and the they slotted together really easily:

IMG_0065

Before long, it was done!

IMG_0067

This weekend, M is on some weird choir trip, so rather than wasting time on the jungle (garden) I decided to put the kitchen floor in.

It went pretty smoothly, but after a while there were some uneven parts of the floor, so I added more underlay foam stuff to those sections so the floor would (wood) har har not wobble.

The original floor in the kitchen is really messy as I had to take a large part of it out to reveal the sewage pipes for the stupid plumber as it was obviously a too big job for them. I then had to re-make the floor out of whatever wood I could find, so it is not totally flat and even.

IMG_0068

I had to make a cute square hole thing for the sink sewage pipes:

IMG_0074

After 5 hours, a few bucket of sweat, and a fantastic Sherlock Holmes audiobook later, it was done!

IMG_0075

IMG_0076

That is all for now! I expect next week I will start making the IKEA kitchen stuff, exciting!

2 Responses to “Darryl blog thing!”

  1. e2ntity Says:

    The cocaine comment made me laugh out loud, but I thiiink I didn’t wake anyone ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Optimistens julenummer Says:

    Now THAT is what I call a reel blรถg entree!!! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Awsome, man!

Leave a Reply

